Geophysical engineering is the engineering science discipline that studies the subsurface of the earth properties by using approaches of physics and geology. Geophysical Engineering Study Program of ITB has been established since 1988, which was under the Geological Engineering Department, Faculty of Mineral Technology (FTM). At 1988, as the General Director of Higher Education (DIKTI) decree No. No. 64 / DIKTI / Kep / 1998, February 26th, 1988, Geophysical Engineering Department has officially formed and separated from the Geological Engineering Department. At the same year, FTM changed the nomenclature into the Faculty of Earth Sciences and Mineral Technology (FIKTM). 

Along with the growth of the technology and the demands of the oil and gas industry in Indonesia, at 2007 FIKTM has divided into Faculty of Mining and Petroleum Engineering (FTTM) wherein the Geophysical Engineering Study Program included in it, and the Faculty of Earth Science and Technology (FITB).